Postcard #51 – #54: Russia

I received this postcard with a really interesting shape a while ago. Don’t you think it looks weird? The edges kinda look like a stamp. I guess it’s fitting since it’s somewhat spiky like a cactus. The sender, Marina, writes that she wishes me ‘fresh ideas, easy solutions and inspiring trips.’ How nice!

2017-05-26 17.53.01

This postcard is from a 7-year-old in Moscow called Artem. Pretty cool! He writes hello in Russian but I couldn’t read it until I realised that in this game that I play called Overwatch, my favourite character says it out loud. 😀 привет (pree-vee-et) That, and I had to watch a short YouTube video on how to pronounce it before I could actually say it. I don’t think a native speaker would understand what I’m saying though!

2017-05-26 17.53.44

This is one of my favourite cards because it has a fairytale-like illustration. Tanya writes about how the illustration is based on a fairytale by Pushkin, a famous Russian poet. I’ve gotta go check that out! If anyone can translate exactly what it says in the description below, I’ll add it as a caption!

2017-05-26 17.54.24

This postcard is from Alla in Moscow. I am QUITE SURE that this is a Siberian brown bear. I’m FAIRLY certain because Zarya has another quote in Overwatch that says, “I want to hug you like big, fuzzy Siberian bear.’ That, and I googled images and characteristics of these bears and found that the one in the postcard looks like them. The one in the fairytale postcard also seems like a Siberian brown bear. One of their characteristics is having darker fur on their legs than the rest of their bodies. The more you know!

2017-05-26 17.54.48

 

Sometimes my friends wonder why I know such obscure facts. I can thank all these little opportunities like receiving postcards which teach me how to say ‘hello!’ (pree-vee-et!) in Russian to linking information from the cards I receive to the games I play. Otherwise, I might’ve just seen the bear as a bear rather than actually going to find out what kind of bear it is! Anyway, enough of my rambling! Until next time!

Anyway, enough of my rambling! Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

